Skip to main content

The Dream Walker by Victoria Carless

The weight of a secret can drag you under . . .

A tender coming-of-age young-adult novel for fans of Gary Crew, Vikki Wakefield and Craig Silvey.

Sixteen-year-old Lucy Hart has been counting the days till she can get the hell out of Digger's Landing - a small Queensland fishing hamlet home to fifteen families, a posse of mongrel dogs, and Parkers Corner Store (no apostrophe and nowhere near a corner).

But just like the tides Lucy's luck is on the turn, and as graduation nears her escape plans begin to falter; her best friend, Polly, is dropping out of school to help pay the bills, and Tom has been shipped off to boarding school, away from the flotsam of this place. And then there's Lucy's nightlife, which is filled with dreams that just don't seem to belong to her at all . . .

When the fish stop biting, like they did when her mum was still around, Lucy realises she isn't the only one with a secret.

About the Author

Victoria Carless is a published playwright and holds a PhD in creative writing. Sometimes she teaches and works in libraries. Victoria lives in Brisbane with her family and two dogs. The Dream Walker is her first novel.

Edition Number: 1
Published: 27th June 2017
ISBN: 9780734417473
Number Of Pages: 272
For Ages: 14+ years old

Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Click here to continue shopping.